I admit, I am one of the most disorganized person I know. I have the attention span of a 7 year old and I have very poor short term memory. This is a problem I acknowledge that and I have been searching high and low for ways to alleviate, if not solve, this problem.

Around a year or two ago, I “discovered” GTD. I’ve been trying to adopt some GTD principles in my life and I have found that if I stick to it, I get more things done despite of my “problem”. However, this also sparked other problems: How do I bring my GTD thingies with me?

My first attempt was to use a TiddlyWiki-based GTD aptly called GTDTiddlyWiki. It worked fine for me since I can put it in a flasdrive and run it on any computer I’m using through PortableFireFox. I can also use it in my iBook (soon to be a MacBook but that’s a different post altogether). The problem with this setup is that I don’t have access to GTDTiddlyWiki all the time. So after a few weeks of using GTDTiddlyWiki, I ended up abandoning it.

Enter Jello.Dashboard2. This is an MS Outlook-based GTD that *may* solve my conundrum. Jello.Dashboard uses MS Outlook’s features (mail, calendar, tasks, notes and journal) and displays it in a neat “homepage” within Outlook. Tasks can be created, edited and updated using Outlook. It is also “lightweight” because there’s no actual need to install Jello.Dashboard, just a few minor tweaks in Outlook’s configuration.

shot1

What I love about using Jello.Dashboard is that I can now sync my tasks/contexts into *both* my Palm Treo650 and my Moto RAZR V3x (via Motorola Phone Tools). Now I can update my tasks even if I’m away from my computer!

Hopefully with this setup, I can get more things done and at the same time make sure that my deadlines are all monitored and met.

Jello.Dashboard is “donationware” and can be downloaded here.

Blogged with Flock

