I’m a Mac addict – despite recent events in my career that are forcing me to take a longer, more objective and open-minded look at the other side of the coin. I guess you could say I’m opening up new, uh, vistas on my spheres of expertise (more on that on my column Lint Tech in the new PC Mag Philippines). Until a year or so ago, I used to be Chairman and a board member of the Philippine Mac Users Group. I owned an Apple II, a Mac Classic, a Newton Messagepad, a 1st gen iPod and a Quicktake. Today there are four Macs at home, and about as many different iPods plus any number of other assorted Apple products.

I’m also in the magazine business. It’s my job to help create several different titles every month or two, and directly edit a couple of tech mags. So it then stands to reason that I would dearly love magazines about Macs – and I do. I read a couple regularly, usually online: Macworld, and MacAddict. Call me old-fashioned, but despite the instantaneous updating and accessibility that the internet allows, there’s still something to be said about a static paper version.

I mention this fact because one of them, MacAddict, has recently released its 125th – and last -issue.

That saddens me on several levels. I have a sentimental attachment to it – it was one of the few voices that kept the Mac fire alive through the hard, difficult times in the early nineties. It was also a fun read. Not as authoritative and serious as Macworld, it was still a great mag, the other side of the coin of the Mac experience. It’s the Wintel world’s Maximum PC to it’s PC Magazine, or something like that. I used to collect those four titles faithfully: Mac Addict, Macworld, Maximum PC and PC Magazine. I currently edit Mobile Philippines and PC Magazine Philippines, and it’s still my hope in the future, however unrealistic and remote the possibility, to write for and maybe edit a Mac title.

In the wake of MacAddict’s departure, life goes on – as a new magazine called Mac|Life, coming out next month. The transformation to the new title is perhaps a nod to the current sea change of user profile and phenomal growth of Apple users that is the direct result of the iPod halo effect and the emergence of the hybrid hell-freezes-over MacIntel Windows/Mac OS X detente. It’s no longer a you-me-and-your-Mac against the world environment – the world is catching on, and this is one of the first signs of the new order. It looks like it’ll be a less clannish, more lifestyle-oriented title, which isn’t all that bad.

We’ll all have to adjust, I guess. In the meantime, I can’t wait for next week’s two-hour Jobs Keynote at Macworld in SF. I think we’ll be seeing more of these changes soon.

